The ultimate place for 80's Soul Funk & Boogie
Chapter 8

Chapter 8 was a Detroit soul group of the 1970s and ’80s formed by Michael J. Powell and David Washington. Anita Baker was featured as lead vocalist on their first, self-titled album on Ariola entitled Chapter 8 in 1979, produced by Michael and Derek. Their second album, This Love’s for Real was released on Beverley Glen Records in 1985, and their third album, Forever, followed on Capitol Records in 1988.

The group was started in Detroit, Michigan in the late 70’s. Derek Dirckson became the band leader after James Mitchell asked Derek to play drums with Chapter 8, who were at the time the backup Band for the Detroit Emeralds. In 1979 Derek Dirckson and Michael Powell produced the first album expanding the groups roster to include Anita Baker, Gerald Lyles, David Washington, Van Cephus, Courtlen Hale, Scott Guthrie, and Alan Nance. In 1985 Valerie Pinkston replaced Anita as the lead vocalist and was featured on This Love’s For Real.

As Chapter 8 was the launching pad for Anita Baker, so was it for Michael J. Powell who went on to produce Anita Baker’s Rapture, Giving You The Best That I Got, and Compositions albums as well as producing Carylon Crawford, Regina Bell, Peabo Bryson, James Ingram and David Peaston. Many of the Chapter 8 group members can be found performing on these 80’s recording masterpieces.
Derek Dirckson went on to discover, manage and produce, Fred Hammond, Commissioned, The Winans, John P. Kee, Mary, Mary, and the great gospel plays, “Momma Don’t”, “Wicked”, “Come Out of The Rain” and many more.

Pusblished in:
Uploaded by: Albin Filet Mignon Boogie